Olavi Louhivuori

Drum and percussion artist Olavi Louhivuori starts his ambitious five album project Immediate Music in December when Svart Records release Immediate Music I on LP and digital formats. The five-part series aims to explore the limits of freedom in music, with Louhivuori working with different ensembles from album to album. On the first album percussionist Louhivuori is joined by Pekko Käppi on bowed lyre and sound artist Teemu Korpipää on synthesizer and sound effects.

Drummer-composer Olavi Louhivuori (b. 1981) is best known for his group Oddarrang, whose successful mixture of jazz and post rock has found many international fans. His solo work has also resulted in a couple of critically acclaimed albums. The workaholic Louhivuori has also performed with several important contemporary jazz groups, such as Ilmiliekki Quartet (with Verneri Pohjola), Alexi Tuomarila Trio and Tomasz Stanko Quintet. He’s also played with international musicians such as Lee Konitz and Anthony Braxton.