Sleep of Monsters

The Sleep of Monsters – or SOM for short – kick-started their career by opening for HIM on New Year’s Eve of 2012/2013 at the Helldone Festival, Helsinki. They were signed to the Finnish Suomen Musiikki label in 2013 and released their debut album Produces Reason in Finland in November 2013, shortly entering the national top 50. In 2014, Svart Records picked the album for international release, putting out the digipak and gatefold vinyl version of the album, complete with a bonus track, in November 2014. 

Chock-full of radio-friendly yet still spine-tinglingly snotty, witty and deathly melodic mélange of acidic rock, cadaverous crooning, and Pink Floyd -type siren choirs, Produces Reason offers ten sticky, sweetly bitter and artfully accessible songs produced by Pekka “Splendid” Laine at his EastSound Studios in Helsinki, Finland. It marks the return of vocalist and lyricist Ike Vil, the morose mastermind behind the lauded death rockers and occult rock pioneers Babylon Whores (with two subsequent “Album of the Month” titles in e.g. Terrorizer magazine), who teamed up with guitarist and main songwriter Sami Hassinen, formerly the guitarist of Blake (featured e.g. in Bam Margera’s Viva La Spring Break TV show), drummer Pätkä Rantala, who played on HIM’s million-selling debut, and keyboardist Janne Immonen, who has toured extensively with Waltari and Ajattara. The sound of SOM is completed by the guitar wizardry of Uula Korhonen and the thumping bass of Mäihä, who also handles backing vocals, and last but not least, on selected tracks, amplified by